Emergency Notice for all technical presenters:

1. Due to current strict control of COVID-19, it is decided that all presenters please pre-record your slide show. Please send in your pre-recorded slide show video file to tech-committee@pof2021.org.

2. Please send in the video file on or before Nov. 19, 2021.

3. We apologize for the short-notice. As always, safety is of top concern.

 

Emergency Notice for all participants:

1. The organizing committee has decided that for invited speakers and guests, the registrations fees are waived.

2. We will notify all online participants with Zoom Meeting log in information ASAP. Please visit this site often for updated information.


Information

Important Dates

November 22nd-24th

Opening speech


On behalf of ICPOF, I would like to thank you for supporting the Conference.  Here I am honored to share some of my thoughts.

 

We are living in an ever-evolving digital world.

 

Current network infrastructures are mainly composed of glass optical fiber (or GOF) and copper wires.  This combination has worked great before 2019 or pre-COVID-19 era, now continuing.  Generally speaking in this setup, glass optical fibers deliver optical signals in the backbone or long-haul reaches or stationary situations, while copper wires deliver electric signals in the terminals and deliver electrical powers when needed.

 

We are now in the all things related to internet era, more and more people are online and higher and higher bandwidths or speeds of data transmission are demanded every single day, across the globe.  We are talking about super high speed internet traffic, 5G communications, 8K video, smart medical, WiFi, smart manufacturing, online conferencing, autopiloting, holography and the newest, metaverse, all need ultra-high speed in data communications. I mean data speed exceeds 1000Mbps, and latency lower than a few milliseconds. 

 

Here five major issues demand to be addressed: 1. the frequent inter-conversions between optical and electric signals contribute to latency.    2. Ultra high speeds are not achievable easily. Bottlenecks are in terminals (very front and the very end) of data traffic; terminals need bendable media, 3. Security or interference of transmission signals. 4. Power wastage as heat and heat dissipation problem; reduction of energy and reduction of carbon emission. 5. Light weight and miniaturization achievable.

 

 In other words, we need much higher speed, reliability, security, low delay, and  without EMI, without high power consumption, without bulky and heavy structure. 

 

Allow me to report to you, without further ado, that the solution is GiPOF, graded-index perfluorinated polymer optical fiber.   

 

Gi-POF is another form of optical fiber, with perfluorinated polymers high-tech materials as the major component of graded-index-profiled fiber core. This optical fiber is very bendable and yet transmits data at ultra high-speed matching that of GOF in short distances. 

 

The key materials of Gi-POF are perfluorinated polymers, which are converted from the starting material calcium fluorite, which in turn is the major component of fluorspar mineral. 

 

I am glad to share with you, that China is rich in fluorspar mineral.   China’s Wuyi County where this Conference is on-going now, is a fluorspar-rich region.

 

GI-POF uses the same wavelengths as glass optical fiber, and with similar ultra-high speeds in short reaches but does not break easily.  When glass optical fiber and GI-POF linked together, ultra-high speed is essentially guaranteed with substantially reduced latency.

 

I have been dreaming, closer and closer the dream is becoming a reality, that is: all-optical networks with glass optical fiber GOF in the long haul, with GI-POF complementing in the short reaches and frequent bendable/moving and other situations, with copper wire providing needed electrical power. 

 

Together with wireless technologies such as 5G, WiFi, Beidou and so on, that dream all optical networks support Metaverse, 8K video, autopiloting, gaming, smart-living, smart-medical, holography and many many more applications.

 

You may ask, wait a minute, Dexi!  Is GI-POF trying to take away the markets from glass otical fiber and from copper wire?  Globally they are not happy and not supportive to your DREAMS! 

 

The answer is no, no, no!

 

The answer is that neither does Gi-POF compete against with glass optical fiber, nor does it compete against with copper wires in any substantive way.

 

There will be tripods in the modern super high speed 3-Dimensional networks: glass optical fiber which is superb for super high speed for long haul and relatively stationary situations, Gi-POF is meeting the needs for short-reach and frequently moving and cornering situations, copper wire providing needed electrical powers, plus wireless technologies transmitting data to places. 

 

They will be focusing on their individual strengths: copper is irreplaceable in conducting electrical power, needed for algorithms, displays, driving, many more.  Let more and more copper be used since I believe that many new applications will be developed.   Gi-POF offers technical advancement for the copper wire data transmission industry. Gi-POF is a bona fide partner in a way.  Together they can reach carbon neutral goals for global industries. Let them cooperate.

 

Gi-POF complements glass optical fiber, Gi-POF is a de facto partner. Transmitting same wavelengths and with appropriate connection technologies, these two are easily inter-linked to form all-optical passive lines.  I request people onsite here to take a look at the walls on the left and right.  There is a case of GOF and GI-POF cooperation in action.  In this Hall there is a network of dual-1Gbps, upload and download: GOF for FTTH; the modem and routers are connected with Gi-POF; GOF and GI-POF are spliced together near the modem.  Onsite 3D network is dual-Gbps: wireless 1Gbps supported by wired 1Gbps optical fibers (GOF & Gi-POF).   Here I thank Wuyi Government and China Telecommunications of Jinhua Branch for communication service support.  The Gi-POF and related all-optical hardware are courtesy of Zhejiang GiPOF Optronics Technology Co., Ltd and Hangzhou FlexMI Technology Co., Ltd. 

 

The three are not competitors; they are partners.  In fact, in the audience there are our friends/allies from the glass optical fiber and copper data communication cables industries.  Cooperation will result in multilateral winning.  Complementary cooperation will bring even more returns for all parties.  Thank you, guys for support.

 

I dream and strongly believe, that GI-POF will be a major infrastructural element to support 5G, 8K and metaverse.  That way we can better share information and avoid bad things such as COVID-19; that we as avatars can exchange information and experience in the metaverse or holographic world, as though we were actually on site.

 

I dream and I strongly believe, that GI-POF will be a mainstream optical fiber, rather than a specialty one.    We strive to achieve the goal that every corner of the world will be lit with the invisible lights that carry information through GOF and Gi-POF.  We need and we need to share information;  we need it more and we need it fast. 

 

I strongly believe science & technology advancements benefit human civilization.  Ultra-high speed communication is among the ways to facilitate open exchange and harmonious cooperation among global scientists and users!

 

Let us work together, for the commonwealth of the global scientific society.

 

I dream and strongly believe, we can service the advancement of the ever-bettering human civilization, together.   

 

Thank you very much.


Dexi WENG, Ph.D
Chair, Organizing Committee, ICPOF-China Chapter
Chairman, Zhejiang GiPOF Optronics Technology Co., Ltd
Dean, Dexyan Global Poly Research Institute

Organized by International Cooperative of Plastic Optical Fibers (ICPOF)

Co-Sponsored by

In cooperation with

Financially Supported by

PAGETOP

紧急通知:由于新冠疫情控制,本届大会将全程在线上举办,请参会演讲嘉宾提前准备讲演ppt,录制讲演视频,并发送至该邮箱tech-committee@pof2021.org.组委会邀请的嘉宾将不收取参会费用。对所有的参会嘉宾,组委会将在近期发送线上大会登陆信息至嘉宾手机或邮箱。

会议时间

2021年11月22日-11月24日

大家好!

 

今天,我代表世界高聚光纤协会-ICPOF,感谢大家的到会和支持。我非常荣幸地能借此机会分享我的感受。

 

我们生活在一个不断发展的数字世界里。

 

目前的数据网络通讯基础设施主要由玻璃光纤(或GOF)和铜线组成。这一组合在2019年或新冠肺炎爆发前发挥了巨大作用,当然现在也在继续发挥作用。一般来说,玻璃光纤在主干线或长距离或静止场景下传送光信号,而铜线在终端上传送电信号,铜线在需要时也兼具传送电力功能。

 

我们现在处在万物互联的时代,全球每天越来越多的人、事、物需要互联、互通,也都需要越来越高的带宽或数据传输速度。我们指的是超高速互联网、5G通信、8K视频、智能医疗、无线网络WiFi、智能制造、在线会议、自动驾驶、全息以及最新的元宇宙,所有这些都需要超高速数据通信来支持。我指的是数据速度超过千兆,延迟低于数毫秒。

 

这时就亟需解决五个主要问题:1,光信号和电信号之间频繁的相互转换导致通讯延迟。2,超高速是不容易实现的。瓶颈在于数据通讯的终端(最前端和最末端);终端需要可弯曲的介质这个问题,3,传输信号的安全性或抗干扰性问题。4,功率损耗和散热问题;减少能源和碳中和问题。5,轻量化和小型化问题。

 

换句话说,我们需要更高的通讯速度,还要考虑到可靠性,安全性,无延迟,无电磁干扰,无高功耗,无笨、重结构可实现轻量化和小型化。

 

这里不再赘述,请允许我直入主题:解决方案是高聚光纤GiPOF,也就是渐变指数全氟聚合物光纤。

 

高聚光纤是光纤的另一种形式,其渐变指数光纤纤芯的主要成分是一种高新材料全氟高聚合物。这种光纤易于弯曲,不易折断,而其传输数据的速度却非常高,短距离里可以和玻璃光纤相匹配。

 

高聚光纤的关键材料是全氟高聚合物,而它是由元始材料氟化钙转化而来,而氟化钙是萤石矿的主要成分。

 

我很高兴通报给各位,中国是萤石矿的资源国,本次会议正在举行的武义县正是中国富含萤石矿的地区。

 

高聚光纤使用与玻璃光纤相同的波长,在短距离内具有类似的超高速,但不容易断裂。当玻璃光纤和高聚光纤连接在一起时,超高速通讯就基本上得到了保证,延迟也大大降低。

 

我一直在梦想,而梦想越来越接近实现:在长距离有玻璃光纤,在短距离和频繁弯曲/频繁动作等情况下有高聚光纤,它们互补合作组成全光网络;还有铜线在旁提供必要的电力。

 

这个梦幻全光网络与5GWiFi、北斗等无线技术一起保证元宇宙、8K视频、自动驾驶仪、游戏、智能生活、智能医疗、全息以及更多、更大、更先进的应用。

 

你可能会问,等等,翁德喜先生!高聚光纤是不是试图从玻璃光纤和铜线中抢走市场?全球范围内这两家业界肯定不会高兴,也不会支持你的梦想!

 

答案是:事情并非如此!

 

答案是高聚光纤既不与玻璃光纤实际竞争,也不与铜线实际竞争。

 

现代超高速三维网络将是三足鼎立:玻璃光纤在长距离和相对静止的情况下提供超高速数据通讯,高聚光纤在短距离和频繁移动和转弯的场景提供超高速通讯,铜线提供所需的电力,再加上无线技术进行帮衬将信息快速地传递到各个角落。

 

各个业界将专注于自己的优势:铜线在传导电力方面是不可替代的,各种算法、显示、驱动等等都需要电力。让更多的铜在这里发挥其强大的作用,因为我相信很多新的应用将会被持续开发出来。高聚光纤也为铜线数据传输行业提供了技术升级改造。高聚光纤在某种程度上是他们的一个真诚的合作伙伴。他们可以一起为全球产业达成碳中和目标做贡献。让他们合作吧!

 

高聚光纤和玻璃光纤是互补关系,高聚光纤是事实上的合作伙伴。通过传输相同的波长并采用适当的连接技术,这两种光纤很容易相互连接,形成无源全光网络。请现场的朋友们抬头看看左右墙壁上,这就是一个玻璃光纤和高聚光纤合作的案例。这里的上行、下行都是千兆网络:FTTH光纤入户是玻璃光纤,光猫和路由器都由高聚光纤链接,同时高聚光纤和玻璃光纤在光猫处直连。现场的网络是双千兆,无线是千兆,由有线的千兆全光网进行支持。 这里我要感谢武义政府,金华电信提供的通讯服务;感谢浙江启兆光电科技有限公司和杭州柔米科技有限公司提供光纤及其它全光网硬件。

 

这三个业界不是竞争对手,而是合作伙伴! 事实上,在观众中,我们有来自玻璃光纤和铜数据通信电缆行业的朋友/盟友。我坚信,合作带来多赢。  互补性合作,会给多方带来更巨大的收益。 谢谢大家的支持。

 

我梦想并坚信,高聚光纤将成为支持5G8K和元宇宙等技术的主要基础设施元素。我们就可以更好地共享信息,减轻新冠这样的坏事情造成的影响;我们还可以作为化身在元宇宙或全息世界中交流和体验,就像我们在现场一样。

 

我梦想并坚信高聚光纤将成为主流光纤,而不是小众技术。我们努力让世界的每一个角落都将被红外光照亮,这些光通过玻璃光纤和高聚光纤携带信息。我们需要信息并需要分享信息,我们需要分享更多的信息,我们需要更快地分享信息。

 

我坚信科技进步有利于人类文明。高速通信是促进全球科学家、用户之间开放交流和和谐合作的方式之一!

 

让我们全球科学共同体为此共同努力,再努力。

 

我梦想并坚信,我们可以,也能够为人类文明不断进步努力服务。让我们齐心协力!

 

非常感谢各位。

翁德喜博士
国际高聚光纤协会-中国峰会组委会理事长
浙江启兆科技控股有限公司董事长
美国帝延国际综合研究院院长

PAGETOP